In Old Washington (Chief Justices)

By James Croggon, The Evening Star, December 18, 1910 [p. 20]

The elevation of Justice Edward D. White of Louisiana to be Chief Justice of the Supreme Court of the United States is the first instance for over a century of a promotion of a member of the court to preside over I, and also of he selection for the post of a man of opposite political faith to that of the administration.

In the infancy of the court, before 1796, one who had been an associate justice was appointed during recess, served one session, but failed of confirmation. Another had been appointed and confirmed, but declined the commission.

From this date until the present, Chief Justices have come from benches other than the Supreme Court for seventy-four years a vacancy in the chief justiceship has happened but four times Chief Justice Marshall served thirty four years to his death, in 1835. His successor, Chief Justice Taney, served twenty-eight years, to his death, in 1864, Chief Justice Chase, 1864-1873; Waite, 1874-1888, and Fuller, 1888-1910, have occupied the past since then.

The court was organized under the Constitution, which became effective in 1789. Article 3 of that instrument provided that the judicial power of the United States should be vested in the Supreme Court and such inferior courts as Congress might establish from time to time.

That Congress assembled for its first session in March, 1789. Washington was inaugurated